A life doing CG....Is it worth it?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

10 October 2017
A life doing CG....Is it worth it?

This happens in the life of any CG artists...
After all those late nights, bad pizza and long period of crunch time you start to wonder...
Is it worth it?

Tell us. 
And how do you find meaning in CG work in a world that seems to  take it for granted.
I am looking forwards for your comments.
-R
This message does not reflect the opinions of the US Government

10 October 2017
Since you said "CG" instead of "VFX" I feel like I can respond.  Is it worth it, doing this as a career?  For me personally, yes.  I've been working with CG professionally for 10 years and I still find it fun, challenging, and rewarding.  I've learned to value the mix between the artistic side, the technical side, and in the past few years the business side.  This doesn’t necessarily mean I would advise folks into this field as it's extremely challenging and competitive, but at this point in my life I'm glad I did.

And how do you find meaning in CG work in a world that seems to take it for granted?  I disagree with this.  CG (as it relates to visualization) is extremely important for the world.  We can create clear, easy-to-understand depictions of complicated concepts and designs, and save millions of dollars while doing so.  This is incredibly valuable and companies around the world have realized this.  Maybe you need to visualize your product to improve marketing or the design phase? Maybe you need to walk through a building that doesn't exist yet?  Maybe you need to train someone how to operate or repair a million dollar piece of equipment from a classroom on the other side of the world?  We can enable all this, and it definitely gives a sense of purpose.  Most people think what we do is literally magic... how many folks can say that?