Is Lightwave dead?-EDIT Nope- New Release

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

07 July 2016
Is Lightwave dead?-EDIT Nope- New Release

A friend of mine has given me his license of LW 2015 and I have always wanted to get into the 3d world (I am a graphic designer).

Is it worth learning LW or is it dead?
Everybody seems to be learning the big guys now (c4d/maya/3ds etc) but LW is no where in sight, so should I take it and learn the program? is it good? can it produce high quality stuff like what I just saw in the gallery?

thanks

07 July 2016
Unless they announced the discontination of the app, then no. Lightwave is not dead. While indeed, is seldom used these days, if you have it, you can use it to learn. Most of the concepts and methods are the same in every aplication. Once you understand these, will take only a coupla weeks/months to move from one app to another.

07 July 2016
Lightwave used to have a decent share of the market, but due to some less than stellar decisions by Newtek, development ground to a halt, and huge amounts of time were wasted on abandoned projects, all of which has put LW years behind where it could have been. At this point the only users tend to be those who have been using it for a long time and naturally dont want to switch away from an application they are comfortable with.

Even though it is still being developed, its very hard to come up with any reasons for a new user to pick it up. Lightwave-specific jobs dont really come up anymore; whilst it is a capable application, unfortunately there are better and more modern solutions available.