doubt

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

Old 03 March 2014   #1
doubt

Hello guys,
I'm a student of 3D and I have a doubt. I am wanting to make a scene, but I'm no idea so I went searching 2D concepts of various environments found on google. I wonder if I would be plagiarism replicate in 3D and then publish.

sorry for my english and thank you already.

Old 03 March 2014   #2
As a matter of protocol, whenever possible, you should ask the original artist for permission. Crediting them, imo, is a must and should never be optional. If you can't get permission and can't/won't credit then move on to the next concept.

Old 03 March 2014   #3
Originally Posted by cookepuss: As a matter of protocol, whenever possible, you should ask the original artist for permission. Crediting them, imo, is a must and should never be optional. If you can't get permission and can't/won't credit then move on to the next concept.

thanks for replying.
I tried to send an email to the artist who made ​​the concept to him asking for permission but he did not answer, these cases can for the credits then?

Old 03 March 2014   #4
Being inspired by another work is one thing, copying it to the last detail is another.

If you are inspired by an artist rendition of the Danube and you create your own representation of the Danube that is ok. But if you just trace over his work and call the end product your own that is a big no, unless you get his explicit permission to do it.

If you can't get his permission, then you have to take it as a NO since his right is protected by default.

Old 03 March 2014   #5
Originally Posted by Tuxon86: If you can't get his permission, then you have to take it as a NO since his right is protected by default.