Am i too old to develop myself as a model artist?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

03 March 2014
Red face Am i too old to develop myself as a model artist?

Let me first of all say that i am mainly self taught and i have about 8 years experience as a 3D model artist working on various games engines mainly helping people with their mods and such. This is why I've progressed slower than others over the past 8 years, been too busy helping other people with their projects and not really concentrating on helping myself.

I'm 30 years old but I've never really got into the character creation side of things but I've decided that i want to pursue it and become really good at it within the next 5 years, maybe even sooner.

What sort of chance do i stand at becoming professional or is everything "go to college/university?"

I tried to go to university but they were teaching me things that i already knew and i got so bored that i was advising the lecturer about hotkeys in 3DS Max (terrible i know but as i said i was sooo bored and wanted to help i guess...)

Thanks!

Last edited by TacticalSiege : 03 March 2014 at 06:12 PM. Reason: Needed to make changes

03 March 2014
30 is not old, come on. You already have a base 3D knowledge which would make a transition to character creation much easier than someone who has no 3D knowledge at all.

Vimeo Videos
Daniel Broadway

03 March 2014
Definitely not too old, if you want to learn I would recommend finding tutorials online. Paid tutorials and workshops are taught by some of the top people in the business and are much cheaper than school. Don't waste money on classes that aren't challenging you. And you don't actually need a degree anyways, just good skills.

03 March 2014
Nice humble-brag. Seriously, you're 30 and already have 8 years 3D modeling experience? Not sure I see what your conflict is here.