Best rendering

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2013   #1
Best rendering

So I feel that like a lot of people out their my art is not truly shown to its full potential unless it is rendered to its maximum quality. Personally as an artist, I want to be an artist in my modeling process I should not spend the most time in the boring technical stuff. Such as retopologizing and setting up UV maps. Rendering is on the same list. I don’t want to spend an entire day tweaking settings and waiting hoping that I got a good render. I want to resolve this once and for all I just want to pop it in and get great quality. So here are all the rendering programs that I have tried and my experience with it.

1. BPR in Zbrush

a. Pros: can get some great render using a high poly model.

b. Cons: fancy stuff like transparent surfaces, and emissive surfaces, not always done correctly or of the best quality. Few materials based of real object qualities, offered but you can make them. HDRI projections, not very accurate. Very limited and overly complicated animation function (based on layers).

2. Marmoset studio

a. Pros: Gives you a great in game engine preview, quick to set up, accurate HDRI functionality, affordable price tag, no rendering here everything is in real time.

b. Cons: Transparency maps still not very glass like, Different materials are placed on separate objects in a model and not separate material subtools, making it difficult to rig and pose a character in 3ds max. Animations often work poorly

3. Vray in 3ds max or maya

a. Pros: Since it’s a plugin in most popular modeling programs it skips a step of having to export your model. This program also features tons of materials for any kind of surface. It does SSS more accurately than any other program I know.