Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 11-03-2013, 03:40 PM   #1
OmarJason
Frequenter

portfolio
Omar Jason
Freelancer
London, United Kingdom

Becoming a Runner(Beware noob questions!)

Hi guys!
In about 6 months I'll have the opportunity to move to England(currently living in Nigeria), and I'm hoping to eventually work there in vfx as a modeler and I am currently training myself in Maya, Zbrush, Mudbox, Anatomy etc. and making my first portfolio piece(a dragon ).
My plan is to start off as a runner as I have no industry experience.

My questions
How hard is it to get a runner position?
I've seen some who seem to have relatively little skill.
Is it all about who know?
Is "running" viable way to become a modeler?
Or should I just make an awesome reel and apply as a junior modeler?

Any advice about this is truly appreciated.

Old 11-03-2013, 04:46 PM   #2
hazmondo
Expert

portfolio
Harry
Rigging TD
Axis Animation
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Hello,

I recently posted a similar question which got some responses, here's the link: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...p?f=2&t=1128582

Hopefully it will answer some of your questions.

-Harry

Old 11-03-2013, 04:52 PM   #3
leigh
blahblah

CGSociety Staff
portfolio
Leigh van der Byl
A cog in the wheel
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Do you actually qualify for a working permit for the UK in the first place? Requirements have become pretty strict over the last few years.

Old 11-03-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
grrinc
Expert

Hi Omar.

Regarding 'awesome show reel' etc etc - yes do that for sure anyway.

More importantly however, what exactly is the situation of you coming here to work? What advice have you been getting? Have you already got a British Passport?

I ask because it aint as easy as a lot of folk think it is once they arrive at the borders.

Old 11-03-2013, 05:46 PM   #5
OmarJason
Frequenter

portfolio
Omar Jason
Freelancer
London, United Kingdom

Hey guys, thanks so much for your responses.