grumposaur
Frequenter

portfolio
scott williams
Calgary, Canada

Send a message via ICQ to grumposaur
Anatomy Issues!

Hello All,

First of all, I am not a professional in this industry, but a hobbyist/enthusiast. (However I did go to Art School)

One big issue that has been bugging me for some time is how much I have seen anatomy be a problem. I have found many otherwise good images/animations/games look bad when the character suddenly shows an anatomical impossibility. Inversely, cartoons, etc that use a lot of motion capture make those without stick out like sore thumbs!

As an example: the difference between a flexed muscle and a flaccid one. (The age old Disney principle here should have solved this one - push-pull- conservation of mass)

Equally, while working myself within 3ds max, etc I find that the rigging set ups used are too simple as well. A simple example being knee joints. Anatomically knee joints are poly centric. (Hip joints are even more problematic- being that they are offset joints that dislocate slightly with every step!)

Are there any sources out there that can help solve some of these issues? (Maybe this is a great opportunity for someone?)

I work in the medical industry creating knee, leg, arm and back braces, etc- I have access to, and have worked with gait analysis, etc of handicapped patients. Unfortunately the medical industry here is so far behind in technology. (again another opportunity!)

Old 11-02-2013, 11:37 PM   #2
Andrewty07
lifelong scholar of art

portfolio
Andrew Prewett
Animator
walnut creek, USA