CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 10-30-2013, 01:01 AM   #1
arteco2
portfolio
United States Minor Outlying Islands

Need some advice (I dont like my job)

Hello im a concept artist (working at my first fulltime studio job for a triple A game) , and I hate going to work everyday but trying my best not to feel that way. I feel a bit trapped and tired of being there. So I come here because maybe someone has some advice. Here's why I dont like my job...

1.) I feel singled out.

The other artist get praise for everything. Everyday i have to deal with hearing this from the art director to the other artist... "good job , good job, good job", but when they come to me its always "fix this, or Im not really feeling this"...Now I can deal with criticism no problem but after hearing this for nearly 3 years now with few encouragements in between im just exhausted and feel useless as an artist to be honest... And ill bust my butt and stay extra late and work hard only to hear the same thing the next morning most of the time "im not feeling this or that". Makes a person feel like nothing they do is right or good enough. Lost so much confidence in myself since being here...

My fellow artist can turn something in that looks sketchy and just "acceptable". But I can do a similar design and make sure its very tight, lots of detail and professional and get told it needs more detail. I get so confused why I have to add more detail but others dont. I asked the art director this, and he was just silent for a second but finally said we're just alot more detailed oriented now. But why does it seem like it only applies to me when Im giving you a high quality end-render rather than sketches. Its not a question of skill or anything, because we're all skilled. It just seems like people get favor over others.

2.) I never get to paint illustrations. I cant fully grow here