CG cost and time

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2013   #1
CG cost and time

Hey all!

I'm new to this whole CG stuff. I'd like to get some effects for my short film. I would appreciate if you could give me some approximate numbers....
-How much time does it take for a CG artist to make a matte painting? (with a live action plate, just extend it with a matte painting)
-How much time does it take to alter the location, like adding some elements to the footage (not organic!)
-How much is the cost?

Thanks

Old 09 September 2013   #2
You need to provide everyone with more info: How many seconds for each shot? What is it matching? What is going on in the frame? How do you want it to look?

Old 09 September 2013   #3
Quote:
I'm new to this whole CG stuff. I'd like to get some effects for my short film. I would appreciate if you could give me some approximate numbers....
-How much time does it take for a CG artist to make a matte painting? (with a live action plate, just extend it with a matte painting)
-How much time does it take to alter the location, like adding some elements to the footage (not organic!)
-How much is the cost?

How much time? Depends on what you want and depends on the artists. Some artists will take a month to do one thing and another artist will do the same thing in 3 hours. Speed of artists vary that is why I never pay in per hour. You get the slow artist you pay more you get the fast artist you pay less but may jip him on the value. I go straight price. Let them guess how long it will take them especially for matte painting. So no hourly for me personally, just per job and let them average it out.

Alter Location - it can be like starting all over again in some cases. Again just depends. Sorry bout the vagueness but the post is vague on what you want.