CGTalk > Main Forums > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 07-28-2013, 12:48 AM   #1
thekillingroad

portfolio
Canada

Question First paid work - excited to get paid but not sure how.

Hi everyone,

I am a digital illustrator and I'm process of landing my first paid freelance project. I've worked for clients before but for smaller projects. This one is for personal project for a client that might lead to future work and I like the concept which makes me even more motivated to work on it.

As much as I'm looking forward to working on this, I've never worked with a client online. My question is: How do I get paid? I have a business model and contract to sign, but I'm not sure about the nitty-gritty details. The go-to option is PayPal, but they take a percentage. What are other ways I can collect a pay for an illustration project? What service do you use? I charge for each stage of the work done so we're talking about multiple payments. Security for me and my client are a priority of course, but I also don't want to scare my client into signing a hefty form just to get a payment across. If the client is in the same country, are there other ways of payment?

Thanks, I appreciate any feedback on this.

Old 07-28-2013, 12:52 AM   #2
leigh
blahblah

CGSociety Staff
portfolio
Leigh van der Byl
A cog in the wheel
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Why not simply use a direct bank transfer?

Old 07-28-2013, 01:06 AM   #3
thekillingroad

portfolio
Canada

What would that entail? If we have different banks, how do I set up a direct transfer? What kind of banking information do I ask from my client?

Old 07-28-2013, 01:35 AM   #4
NanoGator

portfolio
Brian Pace
Modeller, Scripter
Feature Film
Los Angeles, USA

Send a message via ICQ to NanoGator Send a message via Yahoo to NanoGator