Cgi problems in the industry

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2013   #1
Cgi problems in the industry

Hi!

Can you list me all problems in the cg industry you know? The only I know about is the uncanny valley. I'm studying computer graphics and am going to write an analysis about the problem and do experiments around it. Then discuss my results.

I need help to find a good subject. Interesting and relevant. Can be both game and film or a comparrason

Please help!

Last edited by veclock : 07 July 2013 at 03:57 PM.

Old 07 July 2013   #2
Difficulty simulating vast amounts of sand and fluids. Uncanny valley is probably the biggest one though, but it is a popular research subject so it has been done to death.

Old 07 July 2013   #3
Another big one I notice is CG pyrotechnics. They don't look near as good as real filmed pyrotechnics. The exception being possibly standing flames and slow billowing smoke. However, really chaotic things like explosions just don't look even close to real in CG yet. The only CG explosion I've ever seen that looked close to real was the one at the end of Prometheus.

Vimeo Videos
Daniel Broadway

Old 07 July 2013   #4
Tankas! So basically most problems are related to simulations?
Are there problems related to modeling or texturing?
Or animation, like animating wrinkles in the skin or have skin deformations from the skeleton/muscles beneath?

Please give me more examples!

Old 07 July 2013   #5