I keep getting this one question in interviews. Not sure how to answer.

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

06 June 2013
I keep getting this one question in interviews. Not sure how to answer.

I graduated from college 2 years ago with a BFA in animation. And for those past two years (aside from 6 months for family reasons) i've been searching for a job non-stop with a couple freelance gigs here and there. In order to give myself more opportunities while still living in a relatively affordable environment I moved to Chicago. While not the greatest for CG jobs, its better than where I was, and I can't afford California or NYC.

Since moving here about 8 months ago I've managed a couple interviews, and in every single one i've been asked the same question. "What have you been doing"? What they're really saying is "What have you been doing related to 3D computer graphics art/animation"? Its a tough one for me to answer, and I'm not even sure what to say.

The last time I did a 3D animation was the last week of October and I moved out of my parents house the first week of November. Then slept on the floor of a friends bedroom for 3 months where I wasn't able to do much of anything. Then moved into an apartment in February. Because of financial reasons the only computer I have is a nearly 7 year old Mac. Needless to say it doesn't run like it once did, and i've been unable to do any 3D work with it. I'm currently working a part-time job that barely makes anything so saving up is almost impossible.