Career Help!!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 06 June 2013   #1
Career Help!!

Hey guys!
So I go to Fullsail University, I really like it, I want to be a character animator. I just had a session with my instructor that really opened my eyes on what its like to be an animator. I don't really think I am cut out for it/have the paitence.
I really want to be a part of animation, but maybe not the actual animation itself. What kind of jobs can I do in a studio?.... I really like managment, I am organzied and would love to oversee projects/pipeline. Can I do that without really working IN the pipeline? I am a decent animator, but I realized this may not be for me.

Old 06 June 2013   #2
It sounds like you'd be suited for a role in production. The entry level role for that kind of work is as a co-ordinator, where you help the show's production team co-ordinate with the artists and ensure that things are running according to schedule, facilitating communication between different departments, and that sort of thing. However, if you're a creatively-oriented person, be aware that a production role is purely admin/managerial, with no creative aspect.

Old 06 June 2013   #3
Thanks!!
what kind of jobs have a bit of creativity involved? or where I could oversee or watch what they do. I like to see all the creative work happening, would I still get to see some magic if I was a co coordinator?

Old 06 June 2013   #4
Originally Posted by devanieanne: I just had a session with my instructor that really opened my eyes on what its like to be an animator. I don't really think I am cut out for it/have the paitence. .

What was it in particular that made you change your mind?

Old 06 June 2013   #5