CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 06-17-2013, 12:35 PM   #1
rodfpv
portfolio
rod f
pavia, Italy

Entire modelling workflow in Zbrush (4R5)?

Hey folks,

I've been training to become a 3D character artist (I'd like to work in both production and game art).
I'm still a beginner though since I have a lot of things to think about during the day.

I have a simple question and I know that there won't probably be a definitive answer but I'd be glad to hear opinions.

I love Zbrush and I like to start modelling directly into it. Now with the advent of 4R5 it has become even more powerful and independent.

1) Would you guys think that it'd be possible to work entirely in Zbrush with professional results?
2) I mean retopology, texturing and rendering without switching back and forth with other programs?
3) What about companies? Would they look at you as lacking fundamental skills (e.g. in Maya/3ds max etc) or they'd just be interested in the final result?

Thanks!

Old 06-17-2013, 01:02 PM   #2
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X

CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia

1) The retopo tools are brilliant to redistribute detail through phases of the sculpt.
If you have a precise target though, in terms of topology, polycount or both, they aren't there yet.

2) No, the texturing is way too far behind. The rendering is great for illustration and even some pack shots, it's not meant to be the kind of thing you shoot for when "doing 3D" though. It's great at what it does, but it's very narrowly scoped.

3) What companies? If you sell yourself as a concept artist they care very little for how the final pixels are produced. Outside the design loop, and into producing assets (modelling departments for games, films, TVE and TVC) just ZBrush isn't going to fly very far.

Free Maya Nodes

Old 06-17-2013, 01:14 PM   #3
rodfpv
portfolio
rod f
pavia, Italy

Quote: