Industrial Design Software?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 06 June 2013   #1
Question Industrial Design Software?

I am currently working in the design field (packaging, mostly), and I am also a student at a local art school. I would like to get more into industrial/product design, but I'm not sure which software I should be getting into when it comes to drafting, modeling, etc. I'm assuming Autodesk is where I should start my search, but does anyone know what the industry standard is?

Old 06 June 2013   #2
Alias Studio, Rhino, solidwoks, Catia and Pro-e are all very popular for this task.

Old 06 June 2013   #3
My girlfriend works as an industrial designer and is using Rhino and Solidworks for her 3D work and mainly Illustrator and Sketchbook for 2D.

Old 06 June 2013   #4
That makes sense. Most of the lists I got came up with Rhino and Solidworks. Thanks, guys!

Old 06 June 2013   #5
Another vote for solidworks here.

Old 06 June 2013   #6
SolidWorks is a major player in Industrial Design software. Of course it is a Product Development/Engineering suite, but many in ID use it.

As a student, if your school has SolidWorks, you should be able to get a copy of the SolidWorks Student Design Kit, which is free, but you will need a code from your school. Otherwise you can get a license of the SolidWorks Student edition 2013-2014 from JourneyEd or probably some other academic software distributor. You will want the Student Edition not the SDK if you want to have the rendering package, PhotoView 360 based on Modo rendering. Just remember to purchase a commercial license if you start to use it for commercial work.

Old 06 June 2013   #7
If you do some digging it sounds like Solidworks may be soon-to-be-dead-works. Another to look at is Solidedge which seems to be getting a big push at present.

Old 06 June 2013   #8