Knowing when to quit?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Knowing when to quit?

Hey guys, need to get some insight on this from fellow artists because I'm sure I'm not the only one who's struggled with it.

A couple days ago, I got the bright idea to create a production quality motorcycle model as a personal project. Seemed realistic enough, how hard can it be?

Well, I'm not a vehicle expert by any means, in fact, I've never attempted a vehicle before, but I just figured it would be a good learning experience.

Then I spent more hours than I care to remember staring at the reference and swearing.

So I bailed on it. But then the next day it came back to haunt me 'try that bike again'.

Same results, failed attempts at modeling, more swearing.

Next day, 'I'll try the bike again, I won't do anything else until I get it'.

Frustration ensues.

So now I'm sat here in tears wondering how I'm ever going to do art again.

Well not really, but it feels like I'm always going to have inadequacy and incompetence looming over me because I can't model that damned motorcycle.

So yeah, anyone else get this? How the hell do you deal with it?

05 May 2013
How does one eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

I find it helps me to take a very complicated project and break it down into smaller parts. Don't worry about building a motorcycle. Start on a tire or even just the hub of the tire. Start with a part that looks easy and build out from there.
wyattharris.com Dig it!

05 May 2013
I've restarted models before, but it's always a learning experience because you learn a better way of getting to where you want to be

05 May 2013
Or study this:
http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutori...hniques-in-Maya

Even if you are not using maya - the principles should apply everywhere.

05 May 2013
It's the engine! So. Many. Parts.