Am I too old to become a good concept artist at 26?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Am I too old to become a good concept artist at 26?

Please don't be annoyed by this thread or my post count, I was embarrassed to post this on my main, also read through a few threads about this topic but I still have a few questions left unanswered.

Mainly concerning the development of a real talented artists mind, and the amount of time they have practiced while growing up. I mean, every concept artist I've read about started drawing / painting at a young age. They always knew it was what they wanted to do.

I've only recently seen the works of Dylan Cole after watching one of his dvd's, and I have never been more motivated or inspired, wish I grew up around more creative artistic people. I always had a misguided delusion that I'm not really an artist, or else I would have been drawing amazing things since I was a kid.

The last few years I have been sculpting though, mainly focusing on characters, bypassing 2d concepting and going straight to 3d with zbrush & maya. I can retopologize, rig, animate and of course light/render/composite with a bit of environment modeling.
Even though I have these sculpting & technical skills, I am realizing now that being a concept artist with photoshop is where the real art is.