Keyframed Animation Movies

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Keyframed Animation Movies

Are all stylized movies like Despicable me, Brave, Rise of the Guardians all been keyframed or motion capture have also been used? How can you tell if a bi-ped character has been mocapped? In the Spiderman movies, where Spiderman swings from one building to the next, has that been motion captured?

Old 05 May 2013   #2
The likes of stylized stuff from Pixar, Dreamworks, Bluesky is 100% keyframed. I'm studying with animators that work/have worked at those studios so I have this from the horses mouth. They do sometimes use mocap for previs but that's a relatively new development and that motion is not used in the final film.

Regarding spiderman swinging from building to building..well... I think some might be looking at this clip, some is real stuntmen being filmed (why mocap if you can actually film it) and some is keyframed (the really impossible stuff).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDZyNVNXjRM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzwU9KYsPfs

You need a huge mocap stage for that stuff though, not cheap!

Mocap is best for games really in my opinion, movies that use it tend to slip into the uncanny valley pretty fast, see for reference Beowulf, Polar Express and Tintin. Even when it is used successfully like say on something like Avatar you can be sure that the data was heavily edited and finessed by skilled animators. Raw mocap usually looks like crap as it only captures the surface detail of a move, it doesn't get the weight generally.

Cheers,
Brian

Last edited by Horganovski : 05 May 2013 at 04:50 AM.

Old 05 May 2013   #3