Freelancing and selling models - realistic expectations?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Freelancing and selling models - realistic expectations?

Hi!

I'm a 19 year old who got laid off from a terrible job a couple of weeks ago. I'm planning to begin my education at university january 2014. I will live with my parents until then and thus, I have roughly six months unemployment to look forward to unless I find a new job (which may be easier said than done considering my failed attempts so far).

Lets get to it. I'm self-taught in photoshop, zbrush, and 3dsmax. I'd say I'm above average, but definietly in need of polishing my skills a bit. Now, seeing as I have A LOT of time on my hands, and spends most of it modelling anyways, the thought of trying to make a few bucks of it crossed my mind. I have no rent to pay and my expenses are few. Im basically just looking for a way to make a 500-600$ a month and I'm willing to dedicate my entire days in doing so. To me this seems like a good way to build a portfolio, spend time on refining skills that I can put to good use later on in life, and hopefully genereate a few coins.

My question is if this is a idea worth pursuing, and if my expectations regarding income is reasonable.

I know there's no definite answer to my question, but seeing as I'm quite wet behind my ears and don't know alot about selling models and doing freelance work in general, some input from experienced members here would be greatly appreciated.

05 May 2013
There are a bunch of freelance sites such as odesk and elance. You can try finding projects down there and earning that kind of amount is possible. On top of that, the extra personal time you have can be a self exploration journey for you

05 May 2013