Have i "made a huge mistake"?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Have i "made a huge mistake"?

That was paraphrasing G.O.B from Arrested Development, but my issue is almost as tragic/comical. I graduated from an audiovisuals course and in the last months i've been struggling to create a portfolio to apply for a job in the industry. So far my progress has been: i got nothing. The areas i -supposedly- intend to pursue were modelling, animation, even matte painting or screenwriting . But every time i open Maya, Photoshop, Word, i literally stare at the screen scribbling, noodling, moving verts without being able to create anything. Don't get me wrong, i have a very vivid and wild imagination and i'm constantly thinking of "sketches" or scenes, characters, places etc. But something is lost in the process of transposing those ideas into a canvas, be it 3D or 2D, or even words in the case of trying to write a short story. It's like if you know what you want to make, even know the details, but when you actually start to work on it *puf* it vanishes in thin air and you end up blocked.

I dont presume there are "naturals" or that art appears magically without lots of work for everybody, but for sure almost all of you are able to start a piece and end it. So i'm starting to think if i made the proverbial "huge mistake" pursuing this area and that it's not normal to struggle this much just to make a portfolio or to block this easily. I know i want to pursue a creative career, and i am experimenting with lots of different areas, from sculpting to writing, modelling, even photography, but i'm starting to feel a bit scared, to be honest, to think i may have wasted all these years and i don't have the vocation to make a living expressing myself. So, has anybody been through such similar experience? If so, how did you overcome it? Cheers!

Old 05 May 2013   #2