Work in CG: Australia vs Canada

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
Work in CG: Australia vs Canada

Hello!

I'm currently studying CG and I plan to take this as a job. Still dont know if I'll focus on games, vfx, whatever.

Well, Ive been doing some research about Canada's scene and Ive heard a lot of people talking about the lack of work options in Canada.

How about Australia? Could I get some work there? Do they have a strong CG over there? I bet not like Canada but could I get a nice job there?

Last edited by technokill : 03 March 2013 at 03:16 AM.

Old 03 March 2013   #2
Hey man,

Well considering the growth of the Brazilian economy, who knows where things will be in 3 or 4 years. Apparently the Real is weak vs the USD, and that in some way is good for exports. Plus if the WC and Olympics can clean up Rio, it could be on par with Vancouver or Sydney. Obviously though I haven't been to any of those places, nor am I an economist.

-AJ

Old 03 March 2013   #3
Considering your not even experienced unfortunately I don't fancy your chances in either country. From a film vfx perspective theres not much of a career to be had based in Aus with less than a handful of companies who's work is up and down, with plenty of expereinced Aussies who cannot even get a long term turnover of work. Vancouver has a far bigger industry but as expected is saturated with experienced people a lot of which have moved up from LA as both Sony / DD are encouraging staff to move up north.

B

Old 03 March 2013   #4
Haha it's nice to see your enthusiasm about Brazil AJ1, but to live here for the rest of my life is the last thing I want, I could go into details but just no. I thought about Canada and Australia because they seem to be the easiest places to get visas and immigrate later.