[Q] Beginner seeking advice on Software & Hardware !

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2013   #1
[Q] Beginner seeking advice on Software & Hardware !

Hi guys, I'm a beginner to 3d, animation, as well as Poser. However, i'm planning on really immersing myself in this field as a hobby and was wondering if anyone could answer a few questions of mine?

Question 1:
Here is the computer i built 3 years ago along with its specs, is this good enough for doing poser level graphics/animations/rendering? does it barely fit the requirement? or is it fine for a beginner right now, but would probably need to upgrade once i am more serious about my craft? If there's a need for upgrade... do i need to upgrade the graphic card, get more ram? or maybe a solid-state-drive hard drive? which part of 3d graphic/animation require a more high end graphic card? and what will actually lessen the time required for rendering? will a solid state help speed things up at all?

My Hardware:

Intel i7 930 @2.8 GHz 2.79 GHz

Installed Memory (RAM) 6.00 GB

64 Bit Win 7

GA-X58A-UD3R Gigabyte Motherboard with six DDR3 Memory slots (max of 24 GIG i believe)

Western Digital Caivar Black Hard Drive

MSI R5770 Hawk Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Question 2: Poser Pro 2012 will be the software i will be learning, but i've often heard poser people talking about utilizing other high end software for rendering, postwork, etc. What are some good high end software/applications that are good for enhancing your 3d design/image/animation from poser?