Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-01-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
Mfournier
portfolio
Michael Fournier
Agawam, USA

Tools and work flow question

I was messing around today in Maya and Mudbox and a few questions came to mind.

Maya is huge with SO many features that even after a few years using it there are some features I have never used or only use a small part of the total potential of that feature.
So I admit I am new to these applications compared to many of you and that is why I wanted to open this thread to get opinions from more experienced users then I.

First off there seem to be some features In Maya that really do not work like the rest of the application does. One example is HumanIK until you lock a skeleton no changes you make to it generate any Mel so don't try and use Undo should you make a change you do not like or you will lose all of them or even do not close the window ether as you will lose your changes also. (seems like a bug not a feature really but once you know this it is just another thing you need to get used to) in Maya.

Another is the muscle capsules It may seem like small thing but say you have a character that is completed and rigged but you do not like the resulting way it looks in a animation so you decide to add Muscle system to hold volume and give a more realistic look. SO you need to convert and generate a capsules.