Question for beginner....

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
Question for beginner....

So I have this deep admiration for animation and 3d modeling. The problem is that I have zero experience in this field, and zero experience in anything remotely related to it. I have always been interested in this field, but never pursued it. I am 39 years old, and want to learn it, but don't want to go to college. My question is, if i have the devotion, patience and drive, is it possible to learn it on my own, with the help of books, tutorials,videos , but without schooling? I am speaking of Maya and Zbrush, just F.Y.I.

Old 02 February 2013   #2
Originally Posted by stanblaok39: My question is, if i have the devotion, patience and drive, is it possible to learn it on my own, with the help of books, tutorials,videos , but without schooling?

Yes.

more words

Old 02 February 2013   #3
Alright, so I guess this thread can get closed now?

Old 02 February 2013   #4
Yes you can do all that. If you can keep your day job and learn 3D as a hobby or spare time leisure pursuit it would probably be ideal.

Old 02 February 2013   #5
Originally Posted by leigh: Yes.

So this is the reply. Great answer. You certainly covered my concerns. This seemed to be a professional forum, apparently not. I'm not sure what answer I was looking for, but it sure wasn't as vague answer like "yes"

Old 02 February 2013   #6