Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 02-11-2013, 06:49 PM   #1
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada

What are some of the other career choices for CG artists other than VFX/Games?

I was wondering this lately. I know there are opportunities in medical visualization, product design, industrial previz, etc but I have no idea where to start looking for those kind of jobs. I would like to expand my skill set and not be holed into just animation for games/film.

So do we have any cgtalkers here working in those industries and can you give some pointers on how to break into that industry?

Old 02-11-2013, 07:18 PM   #2
nb2013
portfolio
USA

Hello,
Although I am not a CG artist, I am musician looking to expand my work within new media and I would say there is a lot of overlap in both fields; because where there is movement, there is sound! here are some possibilities:

- Advertising, marketing and brand agencies. The amount of media they create and oversee is vast. Advertising, Campaign Videos, real and virtual Brand Experiences etc.

- Web/Interactive

- Any company attending a trade show could need animation for their exhibits

- and what about exhibits at a Museum?

- eCommerce entities within retail for product demonstrations

- enhanced eBooks with video and interactive elements

What do you all think?

Old 02-11-2013, 07:36 PM   #3
Oddgit
synthetic photographer
portfolio
Robert Turner
Sacramento, USA

Send a message via AIM to Oddgit
I have wondered that as well. I would be just as happy rendering cars, cell phones or cells, i like rendering, its fun.

Old 02-11-2013, 09:05 PM   #4
teruchan
Skeleton Man

portfolio
Terrence Walker
The Last King
of Scotland
Shanghai, China

I had a couple of friends who left the film and games world to work in defense. Apparently defense companies like to have Hollywood quality demo videos to show what their next high tech weapon is capable of! I hear they pay better too.