Advice for an entry level 3D artist at a company...?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2013   #1
Advice for an entry level 3D artist at a company...?

Hey all -

I've been studying Maya on and off for about 5 years now, but have dedicated a lot more time to it the past 6 months. I have a portfolio website with about 5 pieces or so and am currently working on more. I have a few friends in the post-production industry and I possibly have the opportunity to meet with their companies 3D departments. I personally have been in post-production as an editor for years and have taken the last couple years off for personal reasons. I plan to move into 3D as editing does not do much for me anymore and my interests have shifted.

My main question - what do companies expect from a 3D artist first starting out? Do they expect me to know Maya front and back? I'm definitely still learning and have a long way to go, but I consider myself an intermediate user. There's still things that I see people do in modeling that I had no idea about. Same for all other aspects of the program. Some things, even basic, that I must have over-looked or simply forgotten at some point. I guess I'm just worried about the expectations that will be upon me. I'm also not the fastest yet as I'm still learning.

Help ease my mind! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01 January 2013   #2
Simply saying 3D is very, very broad. It covers a vast amount of ground and their requirement vary a lot. It's easier to think about it when you break 3D down into different area of focus. Companies look for different things in a modeler's reel versus a lighting reel. Generally speaking, unless you're going for a technical position, knowledge of software is not as important as your skill as an artist and your port folio need to show that.

Last edited by Panupat : 01 January 2013 at 06:15 AM.