Greeting CGSociety

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2013
Greeting CGSociety

Hello all. I didn't see an introduction area so i'll post one here. This is probably the best category to do so.

I'm Andy, 26, father of 2, former Marine, Aspiring Graphic artist. I have been drawing/painting since October 2012. I was medically seperated from Active Duty in 2011 and was in a very depressed state. I started painting with Acrylics on Canvas in October 2011 when i decided to make my wife a birthday present.

My favorite Paninting. Tree in a Field

Lake infront of Mountians

I know i'm no picasso, I have a ways to learn... But with Youtube, Message boards, Art Schoool (starting this year I hope), and time i will get it down!

In November 2011 I found the work of Feng Zhu on youtube while browsing painting videos, trying to get better, and tried messing around with some stuff in photoshop. I was instantly hooked. Having a background in Professional E-Sports I contacted some of my buddies and made Graphic Design images for them. Logo's, Overlays, Backgrounds, things of this nature. I took skills i learned from painting and applied them to the design. I pride myself knowing I make everything from scratch and don't copy and paste like i see some do.

Starcraft 2 Streaming Overlay

Call of Duty Team Logo (this is what he wanted. I don't like the logo, but compositionally i like it. He drew the logo and had arrows designating what he would like there. I added the shadows and texture of which he was not expecting)

My Logo. A few of my friends said i should start doing these for the community, and i should brand them, and make a few $. I usually do not charge for my graphics since i'm very very new, but 5$ here and there makes it worthwhile!