JeremyTAvery
Veteran

portfolio
Jeremy Avery
Texture Artist
Fresno, USA

Texture artist portfolio

Hey everyone,
I have a question about a texture artist portfolio. I have been an environment artist for a while and I recently decided to switch my focus and become a texture artist but I am not sure how to make my portfolio reflect that. What should I include? Do most texture artist use their own models? Thanks for any input.

-Jeremy

Old 12-11-2012, 07:35 PM   #2
McNistor
intergalactic alien

McNistor
Romania

I'm not a texture artist myself, but my intuition tells me that the best situation you could be in is that in which you'd be showing your texturing skills on your own models.
It's hard for me to believe that a great texturing artist can't sculpt/model in a decent way to say the least.

Old 12-11-2012, 09:42 PM   #3
leigh
blahblah

CGSociety Staff
portfolio
Leigh van der Byl
A cog in the wheel
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by McNistor
I'm not a texture artist myself, but my intuition tells me that the best situation you could be in is that in which you'd be showing your texturing skills on your own models.
It's hard for me to believe that a great texturing artist can't sculpt/model in a decent way to say the least.

Sorry but this is, frankly, bollocks. A texture painter is a texture painter. Never in all my years of working as a texture painter have I been asked to model or sculpt anything. Are modelling skills beneficial? Yes. Are they necessary? No. If a studio is looking to hire a texture painter, they couldn't care less whether the models on your reel were done by you or not.

Unlike this poster, I do work as a texture painter, and have for the last decade and a bit.

Old 12-11-2012, 09:56 PM   #4
Dillster
Always Learning

portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Dublin, Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh
Sorry but this is, frankly, bollocks.

You can't get more to the point than that.

Old 12-12-2012, 01:05 AM   #5
McNistor