CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
neil09
CG Artist and Animator
 
neil09's Avatar
portfolio
Neil Ray
Project Manager
Kolkata, India
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to neil09 Send a message via Yahoo to neil09
Question Google SketchUp and Google Earth questions

Hi,
Recently I am in the verge of conversation about a project where my client want to show the building in Google Earth. I am a max guy so I dont have much knowledge about SketchUp . I have few questions :

1. To upload the model in Google Earth is it really require to make the model in SketchUp ?

2. After researching in tutorials say if I can able to make a building model, after that how do I compile the model in Google Earth ?

3. Can I import the dwg plan and elevation in SketchUp where I can trace it and easily make the 3D Model ?

4. I have seen lot of plug-in like Vray, Maxwell, Podium are associated with SketchUp. How do I use it in Google Map or these plug-ins are only useful for rendering visualization like we use them in max or maya ?

5. Is there a special procedure to make optimized 3D Model for Google Earth or I can use 3DS Files for it ?


It will be really help for me if you answer my queries. Thank you
__________________
EXCELLENCE HAS ALWAYS BEEN ACHIEVED ONLY BY THOSE WHO DARE TO BELIEVE THAT SOMETHING INSIDE THEM IS SUPERIOR THAN CIRCUMSTANCES

 
Old 12-07-2012, 06:44 PM   #2
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
You can export a OBJ out of any 3d program and into Sketchup. It wont take a 3DS file. You'll need to place it in the terrain and do your texturing in Sketchup. You can also model from stractch in Sketchup.

They are really picky about file size, and you'll really need to compress your textures. I've had stuff rejected due to file size, but It went through after I re-compressed the textures.

You post your model on the Google warehouse, and hope that they
add it.

I don't think Sketchup has a raytrace rendering engine by default.

http://www.google.com/intl/en/earth...in3d/index.html

http://support.google.com/sketchup/...&answer=1267260

-AJ
__________________

Last edited by AJ1 : 12-07-2012 at 06:48 PM.
 
Old 12-10-2012, 06:31 AM   #3
neil09
CG Artist and Animator
 
neil09's Avatar
portfolio
Neil Ray
Project Manager
Kolkata, India
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to neil09 Send a message via Yahoo to neil09
Excellent suggestions and links. I appreciate it very much Aj. Thank you so much.
__________________
EXCELLENCE HAS ALWAYS BEEN ACHIEVED ONLY BY THOSE WHO DARE TO BELIEVE THAT SOMETHING INSIDE THEM IS SUPERIOR THAN CIRCUMSTANCES

 
Old 12-10-2012, 06:31 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.