A student with questions about breaking into the industry.

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 12 December 2012   #1
A student with questions about breaking into the industry.

Hello
I'm a Sophomore in college and I have a good bit of experience animating with both 3ds max and Maya. I am by no means a master of either program but I'm working on it, and I've begun thinking about what I'm going to do after I graduate.

My question is, what can I do to get my name out in the field? (other than build a solid resume, portfolio, and demo reel)

Old 12 December 2012   #2
Originally Posted by SuddenGambit: My question is, what can I do to get my name out in the field? (other than build a solid resume, portfolio, and demo reel)

Bingo. There is no other way. Just work hard, get good, showcase your work, meet people and thats all you can do.

Oh, and a good dose of luck wont hurt either.

Good luck

Old 12 December 2012   #3
If you don't have a solid resume, portfolio, and demo reel, what exactly is the point of "getting your name out in the field?" No one cares who you are unless you can help them in some way that's advantageous to both of you.

Old 12 December 2012   #4
Creating up to standard work for you porfolio or reel is the only way, as that's what the studio looks at to judge how good you are and see what skills you have to offer. The best way is to get your finished work seen by posting on forums, uploading to websites such as vimeo and etc. Of course also apply to studios with a finished reel.

You can also post WIP in the forums to get critiques, to make you work better and porfolio ready. You might want to blog about your WIP progress.

If you are at a point, where you are confident with your skills, you might want to enter competitions that many 3D forums hold.

You got to create up to standard 3D and be creative to get noticed.

Old 12 December 2012   #5
Wink