Need opinion on iPi Desktop Motion Capture

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 12 December 2012   #1
Need opinion on iPi Desktop Motion Capture

Ok guys,
What are your experiences with the iPi Desktop Motion Capture software?

Would you recommend it?

Looking forward to your comments and ideas.

-R
This message does not reflect the opinions of the US Government

Old 12 December 2012   #2
hi there,

I'm a digital artist in Africa, Zimbabwe. we've tested out iPisoft's app with really great results considering the price. The filters work fine and at the time we were testing it out with one xBox camera. we'll be ordering some Playstation cameras as they have higher framerates and test those out.

Being in Zimbabwe, there are obvious financial limitations, this means a Mocap system or $100 000 is pretty much a no go area for us at the moment and iPisoft looks like the future right now. I won't totally replace hand animation because you'd still need to animate head rotations and such by had as well as hand animation but it gets you 70% there!

Nqo

Old 12 December 2012   #3
I've tried it out and it actually works pretty well. The only real issue is the limited capture space, at least for using the Kinect camera.

Old 12 December 2012   #4
As long as you can cope with the small capture space (it is *small*, I don't fit into it, we have to abuse small bodied interns) it's good for previz, background stuff and also the typical stadium shot motions you need.

It's not good enough for hero creatures, but for the price it does quite well (imho).

Old 12 December 2012   #5