CGTalk > Main Forums > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 11-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
SokarEntertainment
portfolio
Nicolai Schjørring
Albertslund, Denmark

Question If you were a complete novice. Where would you start?

Alright so this forum seem to be comprised mostly of very talented and very experienced people when it comes to model, animating, and everything else going into CG production, so please excuse my, assumed to be, extraordinary leak of both.

I have always wanted to get into modelling, animation, I guess CG production in general. I remember fiddling with some obscure modeling program when I was little, in an effort to try and add models to a game (Warcraft 3) I was playing at the time. I'd say my Serpent Guard turned out alright, but I never did figure out how to actually import it into the game, and being a kid of 12, I quickly found other things to do with my time. That said I never lost the interest, and came back now and then try and build different things.

Its been a "dream" of mine to really give it a go, and see if I had what it took to become part of this industry, I just never had the time. More then that it seems like an impossible task, when pondered on with my level of ignorance. However I have been fortunate enough to have a year (or longer), with nothing to do professionally, and the economy to live without a job, so I thought this would be the time to try and make it happen!

So I'd like to ask you fine folks the following; If you were a complete novice, with aspirations of getting involving in game making/film making. What would start off learning, and in what order would you learn what? (I have a particular interest in modeling and animating, but I suspect I'd like to learning a bit of everything before I can choose which art to specializing in)

Thank you for your time and replies.

/The Novice

Old 11-13-2012, 09:25 AM   #2
Lunatique
Pragmatic Dreamer