Old 11-06-2012, 09:13 PM   #1
MsZippy
Veteran

portfolio
Kelley Grantham
High School 3D Animation Teacher
East Valley Institute of Technology
Tempe, USA

Send a message via ICQ to MsZippy Send a message via AIM to MsZippy Send a message via Yahoo to MsZippy
Advice for high school animation teachers

Hello!

Im an animation instructor at career training high school and I was wondering if I could get some advice about some of the goals weve set to improve our program this year. It would be great to get feedback from professionals working in the industry.

Here are our goals:

1. Finding an appropriate certification exam for our program completers.
2. Finding ways to attract more girls into the program.
3. Increasing the memory in all our systems to 6 GB.

Very soon we will be required to administer some kind of certification exam as a requirement for completion of our program. There is an Autodesk testing facility nearby and we were considering making the Autodesk 2012 Certified Associate Exam a required component of completion in our program. However there is a fee involved and this could be problematic for underprivileged students. I've also heard that we should write our own exam.

We would also like to address imbalance between the genders in all technology fields and are always looking for ways to attract more girls. Any advice in that area would be really great.

We are already in the process of ordering more memory and upgrading all the systems to 6 GB.

Any input or advice on these goals or any other subject would be much appreciated. Thanks so much!

Old 11-06-2012, 09:34 PM   #2
katisss
lllllllllllhexhex

portfolio
Katrin Schmid
www.lo-motion.de
Sydney, Germany

What high level skills do you want the kids to learn in the end?
Basic 3d skills are nice but then not sure about their value for life or most jobs out there. Let's face it how many future professional vfx artists are attending your class? No, it is not a big job market.