Study plan

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2012   #1
Study plan

Hi eveyone,
I started learning C.G. one year ago.
After consulting various forums, I enrolled on one of the biggest online schools 6 months ago.
During these 6 months I have tried several SW programmes.
I have also watched a lot of trailer and showreels by C.G. artists and have decided to go into the movie sector.
Unfortunately, I live in Italy at the moment and haven't got the money to go to the U.K. / U.S.A. / Canada to do a professional course.
I am currently out of work and have a lot of freetime.
I am writing this post to ask for assistance with creating a 6-month study plan to simulate a prefesional course.
So far, I have established the following through various forums:
* Maya is still industry standar for movies.
* Houdini will become the new industry standard.
* In U.K. Maya is more used than Softimage instead in U.S.A. Softimage is more used than Maya.
* It is necessary to learn 3DS vbecause its modelling tools are the best and it would give me the additional option to entering the gaming sector in the future if I decide to.
* It would be good to lear Mari because it will be place Photoshop as the industry standard for texturing.
* For molelling artists, it is also necessary to know a sculpting programs like ZBrush and / or Mudbox.
* Zbrush is better than Mudbox for sculpting but Mudbox is better tha ZBrush for texturing and compatibility with Autodesk.
* It's important to focus on only one sector but understand the basics of all the C.G. sectors. And as such, an eventual study programme could include:
Modelling and texturing.
Rigging and animation.
Lighting and rendering.
VFX like Flame, smoke and fluids.
* If I decide to specialize in VFX using Houdini and / or Maya (Eg. Flame / smoke / fluids), I will need to have strong knowledge of all sectors of the program(s).