Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 10-12-2012, 10:29 AM   #1
iLEZ
Anders Ryttar
3d artist
Clas Ohlson
Sweden

Send a message via ICQ to iLEZ
Starting up an in-house 3d department...

Hey CGtalk.
Extremely long time no see. When I lurked this place the last time, I was in school studying game development. This was almost 10 years ago. Now I'm a graphic designer, working mainly in InDesign and Photoshop, for a Swedish company. The thing is that I've been doing this job for five years now, and I love it, but I just can't let 3d go. I'm convinced that this is possible. I want to start an in-house 3d department at the company where I work.

I haven't touched 3dsmax in many many years, before I went to school. We used Maya there, and for low-poly stuff. No rendering, just game engine stuff. Now, I have convinced my boss' boss to purchase 3dsmax 2013(!) for our in-house department, and he wants to see what I'm capable of, so in my spare time I've started making some models and rendering them in Mental Ray as best as I remember. It feels like riding a bike for the first time in years to be honest, I hardly notice that I've been away.

This LED-worklight is one of my first models that I've shown my colleagues.

Now to the questions:

How do I go about with this whole thing so that it doesn't tank before it's airborne? There are suits to be convinced, much learning to be done and probably some conflicts with ancient traditions and practices.

How did you manage to start a 3d-department from scratch?

What were your good arguments to convince the suits?

What was the biggest difficulty?

Can you show me some good examples of photo realistic 3d rendered product images like mine. I'm collecting ammunition for those old dinosaurs who'll inevitably claim that they can spot the difference.