CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #1
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
how to bring depth in vray rendering

hello,
i am working on 3ds max 2012 64-bit OS ! i have rendered a few interiors with v ray 2.0! BUt th problem is i find my output deprived of depth..it looks kind of flat and dull..!! coul anybody plz help me with some lighting tips ??!!
 
Old 10-08-2012, 02:36 PM   #2
Zykras
Digital Explorer
 
Zykras's Avatar
portfolio
Stanislaw Menschow
3D Artist / Developer
Miysis
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 290
You're looking for "depth of field", you have to turn it on manually in the vray camera options.
Main values to work with are focus distance and f-number in the vray camera to achieve different DOF, but there should be tutorials out there explaining this in detail, just do a google search for these terms.
__________________
Passion is the key.
Miysis 3D
 
Old 10-08-2012, 02:52 PM   #3
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
 
Old 10-08-2012, 03:33 PM   #4
Dillster
Always Learning
 
Dillster's Avatar
portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Student
Still in college
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,614
Welcome to the forum. You will probably need to upload a picture of your render so we can see what the problem is. Otherwise it is hard to advise you.
__________________
I like to learn.
 
Old 10-09-2012, 03:27 AM   #5
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
re

thnx Zykrus bt dis not wat m talking about...may its Z depth..i want it more realistic its too flat...may u get an idea seeing this image i've rendered.!![IMG]1.jpg[/IMG]
 
Old 10-09-2012, 04:53 AM   #6
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
thnx ol..actly dis is my frst thread..n i too wanted to upload my rendered images ..but coul not find how to..plz let me know how can i upload my image in this thread..n thnx zykrus bt depth of field is not what i am lookin for..i want more realistic rendering..the flatness is the problem..!!
thanks
 
Old 10-09-2012, 05:40 AM   #7
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
i think i found how to attach..please take into notice the image below !!
Thank You
Attached Images
File Type: jpg loophole1.jpg (60.4 KB, 143 views)
 
Old 10-09-2012, 09:13 AM   #8
Zykras
Digital Explorer
 
Zykras's Avatar
portfolio
Stanislaw Menschow
3D Artist / Developer
Miysis
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 290
Could you please post your render settings and/or scene setup?
Just make a screenshot and post it here, that's the easiest way to get help.
__________________
Passion is the key.
Miysis 3D
 
Old 10-09-2012, 09:56 AM   #9
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
The biggest problem with your render is a lack of shadow definition. With stronger (darker) shadows your scene would be more 3D.

I would:

1) Make the wooden frame of the beds a little darker
2) Place a strong, shadow-casting light on the ceiling and dim the other lights slightly
3) Also, you may have too many GI bounces in your scene, washing away your shadows. Try using less bounces, or give the lights in the scene a stronger (shorter) falloff.
 
Old 10-09-2012, 10:05 AM   #10
Zykras
Digital Explorer
 
Zykras's Avatar
portfolio
Stanislaw Menschow
3D Artist / Developer
Miysis
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 290
And use Ambient Occlusion for the finaly image, but the main problem is indeed your GI/shadows.
__________________
Passion is the key.
Miysis 3D
 
Old 10-09-2012, 10:20 AM   #11
deepika01
New Member
portfolio
Deepika Mali
no comp
jaipur, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
here are the parameters...could you please elaborate how can i do away with the GI bounces..has it got anything to do with the v-ray GI settings in the render setup ??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg parameters.jpg (84.2 KB, 33 views)
 
Old 10-09-2012, 11:56 AM   #12
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
I don't have Max/Vray, so I don't know where the exact control for GI bounces is.

Look for something called "Secondary Bounces" or similar, and reduce the number/strength of those bounces.
 
Old 10-10-2012, 04:15 AM   #13
richardrosenman
3D Punk.
 
richardrosenman's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Rosenman
Director / Owner
Richard Rosenman Advertising & Design
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 269

Like DePaint pointed out, your image lacks tone.

And like others pointed out this is achieved using global illumination, ambient occlusion and stronger area shadows.

If you want depth of field, please excuse my shameless plug: http://www.dofpro.com

-Rich
__________________
Richard Rosenman
Director & Supervisor
www.dofpro.com
www.cgplugins.com
www.cgsphere.com
www.hatchstudios.com
www.richardrosenman.com
 
Old 10-10-2012, 08:54 AM   #14
Zykras
Digital Explorer
 
Zykras's Avatar
portfolio
Stanislaw Menschow
3D Artist / Developer
Miysis
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 290
Your GI settings are pretty standart, I don't think thats the problem. Your main lightsource is too bright/placed wrong, where does it come from? Try to turn of the other lights and work with the main lightsource to achieve nice area shadows.

Also you're not working in gamma 2.2!
Id would like to see the wireframe/placement of the lights in the scene to understand the problem.
__________________
Passion is the key.
Miysis 3D
 
Old 10-10-2012, 11:42 AM   #15
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
Deepika,

I spent a few minutes in Gimp 2 color- and contrast-correcting your render using curve controls and so forth.

Is this what you were after? (Top is original, Bottom is my attempt)

 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.