What makes a really good environment?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2012   #1
Exclamation What makes a really good environment?

What do u guys think make a 3d environment stand out from the rest and why?

Old 10 October 2012   #2
Details, its all in the details.

Old 10 October 2012   #3
Storytelling and mood. There are a million things required to get an environment up to the "good" level, but the difference between good and great almost always comes down to those two things.

Old 10 October 2012   #4
I'm not an environment designer, so it's just are my thoughts.
Environments are separated into two key elements: architecture and landscape (including vegetation). So, of course, interesting architecture, which complements the mood and the task, is beneficial. It would stand for a reason choosing abandoned churches and clock towers in Roman or Gothic style with complementing dried trees for the landscape. And for something like fairy-tale more of Gaudi style with peculiar trees.
Then complementing weather, time of day, lighting. Spooky - most probably night, mysterious - may be high midday without any clouds. Artificial lights also matter, as their direction can completely change the perception of the environment.
Then for 3d part, yeah, small details, that add to realism, if that's the goal. Like a bit of wear, reflective surfaces, pools of water in the night.
If for games, then playability, balance, believable construction depiction.