CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 09-30-2012, 04:36 PM   #1
Zack Attack
Expert

Smile breaking the rules on freelance -bookings & holds

Hey all, I'm not gonna go to in depth but heres the jist, I am a junior freelancer nyc, and while it is rough out there, with tons of competition and little work to go around, I think I have been doing pretty well getting booked and what not. How ever I would really prefer a full time gig (dont we all), but with hiring process for full time I just been getting the run around, what with interviewing, doing in house test, them never getting back to you and then the same job posting pops up every few months again,

Currently, Im freelancing at a pretty well known ad agency for a few weeks then on 1st hold for a month. However I interview for a full time few weeks prior and the hiring manager just contacted me saying I might be there guy and there could possibly be an offer soon. So I guess my question would be would it be taboo to abandon (2 weeks notice) my booking or hold for a full time? Its a rather small industry and Id rather not burn any bridges, but in these times decent junior full time gigs are far and few between, but I would like to do whats in my best interest ...soo any suggestions?

Thanks and happy Sunday!

Old 09-30-2012, 06:17 PM   #2
Michael32766
Frequenter
mash
hey can you fix this?
Digital Migrant Worker, Mongolia

A "hold" is not binding in anyway. It's really just a polite agreement between you and the HR person. They are really just saying your on their short list. If another gig comes up for you the professional thing to do is call them up and say "Hey I got offer for a full time gig. Just wanted to let you know" or even let them make a counter offer.
I don't think they will be too upset if you left to take a full time job as long as you let them know whats up.