CGTalk > Main Forums > General Discussion
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 09-19-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
Rudolfvda
portfolio
Rudolf Vda
Private, NL

Smile Starting out as a 3D modeler - lots of questions

Hi all! This is a long post, but I'll thank you in advance for looking into it!

Let's just start out with saying that I'm kinda new to modeling, although I've followed several courses on Lynda.com (3DSMax) and I've got some questions I just can't answer myself.

Allow me to start with the first one; is 3DSMax going to be 'alive' in the future? I've heard some rumours left and right about firings, and although appearently (from what I've read) Autodesk isn't going to kill 3DSMax, but it has got me worried that they are seizing development on some parts of 3DSMax almost making me think they will seize more in the future. Should I be worried about learning 3DSMax considering its future?

Another thing I'm a bit confused about is making models game ready. There seems to be little recent resources about how to make models game ready. I'm actually interesting in creating and selling game props, allowing game creators to buy them for cheaper than it would cost if they had to do it either themselves or have a full-time modeler-texturer for this. Any tips or references on how to make a model game ready are truly appreciated!