CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 01:54 PM   #1
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
GTX 680 2GB vs. GTX 580 3GB for this software?

GTX 680 2GB vs GTX 580 3GB are my two choices for use with Luxology modo 501 and Maxwell Render unbiased rendering (don't have yet), Foundry Mari (don't have yet). The two cards are about the same price, are different GPU architecture and the 680 has less memory than the 580. I am running Win7 64bit with Intel i7 2600k.

Suggestion?

edit: no animation, just large stills

Last edited by shokan : 05-06-2012 at 02:16 PM. Reason: added
 
Old 05-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
earwax69
Ctrl+Altl+Chicken
 
earwax69's Avatar
portfolio
Thierry Fortier
Montreal/Osaka, Japan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,497
2 or 3mb is clearly not enough. I would recommand at the very least a GeForce2 MX with 32mb of ram.
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish

Last edited by earwax69 : 05-06-2012 at 02:02 PM.
 
Old 05-06-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by earwax69
2 or 3mb is clearly not enough. I would recommand at the very least a GeForce2 MX with 32mb of ram.


Foundry Mari has GTX 580 as one of their approved cards. Any particular reason for your suggestion?
 
Old 05-06-2012, 02:12 PM   #4
Alonzo
CAD addicted
 
Alonzo's Avatar
portfolio
Allan Karczewski
Austria
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 213
i think he was just joking, because you wrote MB instead of GB
 
Old 05-06-2012, 02:15 PM   #5
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo
i think he was just joking, because you wrote MB instead of GB


lol, yep. GBs is what I meant.
 
Old 05-06-2012, 03:11 PM   #6
earwax69
Ctrl+Altl+Chicken
 
earwax69's Avatar
portfolio
Thierry Fortier
Montreal/Osaka, Japan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,497
Sorry for the confusion. Not much help I'm afraid...
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish
 
Old 05-06-2012, 03:46 PM   #7
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by earwax69
Sorry for the confusion. Not much help I'm afraid...


No problem.

It's interesting that I haven't been able to get a definitive answer to this in other places. Interestingly, one person has said the GTX 680 (not referring to 2GB RAM) is not a good card for 3D work.

And, no one has been able to answer GTX 580 3GB vs. GTX 680 2GB.
 
Old 05-06-2012, 04:42 PM   #8
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
The 580 is Mari certified, the 680 isn't (yet).
RAM is THE bottleneck for Mari, mudbox and for GPU rendering.

Not hard to pick one. Pick the 580 with 3GB.
And next time use the hardware forums for hardware questions, please, not GD
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 05-06-2012, 05:45 PM   #9
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThE_JacO
The 580 is Mari certified, the 680 isn't (yet).
RAM is THE bottleneck for Mari, mudbox and for GPU rendering.

Not hard to pick one. Pick the 580 with 3GB.
And next time use the hardware forums for hardware questions, please, not GD


This was what I was thinking also. And, will do=>Hardware.
 
Old 05-06-2012, 07:10 PM   #10
DuttyFoot
Expert
 
DuttyFoot's Avatar
stephen curah
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,427
Quote:
Interestingly, one person has said the GTX 680 (not referring to 2GB RAM) is not a good card for 3D work.


i heard the same thing from someone who bought it when it came out, they said its good for games which isn't a surprise.
__________________
Heights of great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were toiling upwards in the night.
 
Old 05-06-2012, 09:01 PM   #11
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,019
They're going to be releasing a version of the GTX 680 with 4GB, which would be much better than the 580 3GB

However, it could be possible that Mari doesn't support the GTX 680. For instance currently with iRay it doesn't support it.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 05-06-2012, 09:37 PM   #12
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthviper107
They're going to be releasing a version of the GTX 680 with 4GB, which would be much better than the 580 3GB

However, it could be possible that Mari doesn't support the GTX 680. For instance currently with iRay it doesn't support it.


Right, the guy from The Foundry told me that if the specific card isn't on their list doesn't mean it wouldn't work... it only means they haven't put it through their testing procedures. It would be an expensive risk I'm not willing to take. I'll be getting the GTX 580 3GB probably; I can always wait until the GTX 680 4GB becomes easy to get and meanwhile read about its use with Mari from people who have tried it. Meaning, the 2GB version has been around for a while now and it still can't be kept in stock with the well-known N.American online retailers. It will probably be the same for the 4GB version. Some European companies have already released 4 GB ones (Gainward, Palit), and I believe EVGA will be out with theirs very soon.
 
Old 05-07-2012, 12:30 AM   #13
Ian31R
Expert
portfolio
Ian Adams
Freelancer
Kent, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 292
I wish I had 2 4GB GTX 690's
 
Old 05-07-2012, 02:39 AM   #14
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,019
The GTX 690 is actually 2GB (2GB for each GPU)
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 05-07-2012, 02:50 AM   #15
Ian31R
Expert
portfolio
Ian Adams
Freelancer
Kent, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 292
Well, you should be able to have 2 690 cards with 8GB - 4x2GB
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.