Quads vs Triangles workflow

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

05 May 2018
Quads vs Triangles workflow

As a teacher and artist, I've often practiced, reviewed, and taught the principles of good / clean geometry. Naturally, that means pushing a strictly quad-based workflow. However, I understand that game engines tend to prefer triangulated models for collision detection and render performance. So here's the question, why push the use of quads in the first place?

Now, I'm not talking about N-gons. Those are a different beast. We all know that N-gons cause problems with animation and rendering. Moving on...

Getting back to the question at hand, let me reinforce a bit. If the GPU renders triangles faster than a quad, and a quad is really just two triangles with a hidden edge, and the game engine prefers tris, then why not just use them?

I was reading an article on Plural Sight https://www.pluralsight.com/blog/fi...s-triangles-bad that stated triangles and n-gons cause issues with animation and rendering. I know this is true with n-gons (I've experienced it first-hand) but how could it be true about triangles? Once again, a quad is just two triangles with a hidden edge, which means triangles are always present even if your workflow is in quads. So how could a triangle cause rendering or even animation issues?

I personally have never had a such a problem with triangles, has anyone else?

06 June 2018
Couple of things to consider off the top of my head...

- clarity of loops in relation to anatomy
- harder to manage poles with tris
- normal computations are pre computed rather than post tessellation
- solver preference for mesh deformation. Eg cloth cross links†
- quads -> tris = easy. Tris -> quads not so much
- some important common modeling tools depend on quads †(eg. select edgeloop)
- A big one - Subdivision! ( give it a try...yuck)