Rebecca Kimmel's Anatomy Review 002: OPPOSING CURVES

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2005   #1
Arrow Rebecca Kimmel's Anatomy Review 002: OPPOSING CURVES

SPECIAL NOTE - posted 1/23/06:

SINCE THIS IS LARGELY A CLOSED THREAD, FOR THOSE INTERESTED IN FURTHER EXPLORING BASIC DRAWING CONCEPTS, PLEASE SEE THE FOLLOWING (ACTIVE) THREAD:

Here we explore the Concept of Gesture ~ anyone is free to join in!

Beginners' Lounge
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=297229

~~~

REBECCA KIMMEL'S Anatomy Review
002: OPPOSING CURVES

REBECCA KIMMEL'S Anatomy Review 002: OPPOSING CURVES

Welcome to the second thread of Rebecca Kimmel’s Anatomy Review. Hopefully this will be only the second of many "tutorials" that I will be writing about the core concepts concerning drawing the human figure in an artistically anatomical way.

But first let me tell you a bit about myself -- I graduated with honors from the Art Center College of Design having studied Illustration. I studied under the popular teachers Harry Carmean, Burne Hogarth, and Steve Huston among many others. I have always had the interest in teaching figurative drawing and artistic anatomy, and I am thankful to Roberto Ortiz for presenting me with this unique and special opportunity. So bear with me as this is a fledgling teaching attempt.

So bring your drawing pads, sketch books, your wacoms and your pencils & pens, and let’s start drawing.

Part II: OPPOSING CURVES

Human form is organic form, and organic form is built for economic movement. As with plants and trees, so with human beings – we are built with curves, not straight lines, and the reason for our curve-based structure is to allow us to move efficiently. So, when drawing the figure, the principle to keep in mind is simple: CURVES.