WIP_Kreola_ simon went

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

10 October 2013
WIP_Kreola_ simon went

Hi all! Im new to matte painting and so would like to use this opportunity to try and learn some new stuff, so be as critical as u like!
I love the imagery that springs to mind when reading the passage from the Kreola script. The first thing that springs to mind is the the context is set in a gorge, and these can be incredible places but are in no way indicated in the plate, so this is probably where I have the most creative freedom!
first thing then, gorge reference!
I compiled a bunch of reference and then began to establish a composition of the environment

10 October 2013
Hi Simon,

It weould be interesting to see your entry with your references and the green gorges. Looking forward to an update!

10 October 2013
thanks sheema!
like i said, im new to matte painting so dont know if im following standard protocal, though I do have some experience concepting so that helps! Bit more developement on the environment, started by blocking out the layers of depth and then adding some architectural detail...

10 October 2013
sorry, this was a mistake!

Last edited by simonwent : 11 November 2013 at 06:01 PM.

10 October 2013
more updates

how do I delete a post?? also, I posted some concept art in the wrong thread and need to move that too!

Last edited by simonwent : 11 November 2013 at 06:02 PM.

11 November 2013
update

more update on the envirnment, concern the image isnt balanced at the mo, something I might need to address with a fresh pair of eyes!

Last edited by simonwent : 11 November 2013 at 01:22 PM.

11 November 2013
Looking really good!