WIP: KREOLA - Joris van Beusekom

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

10 October 2013
Smile WIP: KREOLA - Joris van Beusekom

Hello there!

I'm a little late to the party, but let's see if I can dance with the rest of you.
Let's warm up by going through the excerpt, and see what ideas I'll get.

"Convey a feeling of the city extending into infinity."
Infinity might mean a lot of drawing, or using trickery. Honestly, I have very little experience with epic scales so I might go and look for some good reference on this.

Two opposing cliff faces above the river, 200m gorge.
This sounds like a great opportunity for verticality (is that a word?). The final image must be 1.78:1 or 2.35:1 though…

"Houses seamlessly carved into the rock."
Petra .

A lively neighborhood, resembling a souq.
If you say souq, I say trading. Now we've established there's a river, so this might mean boats. Which is great, because when I think souq I also think about spices and textiles. I can do something with that.

Flussdorf was created by ancients. This section is upper middle class. The community is multicultural.
Diversity is key. It should have buildings old (ancient) and new, influenced by a variety of different styles.

The settlement is overgrown, significantly hot.
That sounds like a desert oasis, going on the Petra/Souq ideas. But this is also a steampunk story, so that would make steam a precious resource in arid environments. Maybe I can work this into the trade aspect. It would've been nice to know a little bit more about the planet and its societies.

It's also at the brink of war.
With whom? I don't know. But I guess people will see this coming. And Flussdorf's military would probably have some propaganda going on. This can be useful for fleshing things out, or when I run out of ideas for a blank spot on the matte painting.