Futuristic Jersey City

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

08 August 2013
Futuristic Jersey City

Hello everyone,

My name is Rohit Nayak and I am currently studying Visual Effects at Vanarts , Canada. I am currently in final semester and this is the last month of the course. So I am currently working on my demo reel. I wanted to get reviews on one of the works I did for my demo reel.

I tried to do a futuristic Jersey City.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

08 August 2013
blue

hi MysticalDisaster

I liked your image. And architecture... I only noticed that the buildings are too blue and maybe it would be good to stick with the color of the plate (more red).

08 August 2013
Hio Rohit,

Nice of you to join us here as well! I think you did a great job matching the perspective, scale, and lighting. But there are a few final things that could be improved upon:

- Biggest thing standing out is the atmospheric perspective and black values, at this distance, it should be more hazy, like the original photo, try to add some of that back in.
- Also if you look around on the far edges, like the top right or the BG of the 3D extension you did, there's no integration, it needs black level matching and atmospherics, as well as some ground integration. They are floating out by themselves there.
- Generally, the clouds in the BG are cool, but in the middle, some cloud highlights are too clipped in the white range and lose too much detail, try to add some back and have them "fade" more into the horizon of haze.

Overall, you've got a great base and it looks great! Just need to fix a few things and it'll be production ready.

www.davidluong.net
facebook.com/ackdoh

I teach a DMP Workshop

http://photonicplayground.com art gallery!

08 August 2013
Thank you so much norbertoidiart and David for the feedback. Those were pretty strong and convincing points. I will work on these points.