CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Electric Image Animation System
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2006, 05:17 PM   #1
manuel
Know-it-All
 
manuel's Avatar
Manu Roig
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 399
Cool things no one knows about EIAS

To apply the same property to multiple elements, you can right-click on any pop-up menu and you'll see a whole lot of ways of doing just that. The most useful one is probably "all selected".
 
Old 04-13-2006, 11:30 AM   #2
halfworld
Lord of the posts
 
halfworld's Avatar
portfolio
Ian Waters
3d Animator
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 985
Send a message via AIM to halfworld Send a message via MSN to halfworld
One of many...

With it being that time of the year, my first is an Easter egg:

Hold down Alt (option on American Macs) and click on the Plugin menu, you can bring up an 'About xyzplugin...' box that tells you a little about the plug-in.

WARNING: Save your project before you do this, Ramjac plug-ins simply crash EI when you click on them.

Ian
 
Old 04-13-2006, 08:03 PM   #3
arketype
Render Speed Junkie
 
arketype's Avatar
portfolio
David Stoddard
Industrial Designer
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 490
Crisp Anti-Aliasing

This has been mentioned elsewhere, but....

Set Anti-Aliasing to Adaptive and min 255, max 255 to put camera into "average" mode.
This creates a crisper image, good for stills. Also renders just a bit faster.
 
Old 04-14-2006, 08:58 AM   #4
manuel
Know-it-All
 
manuel's Avatar
Manu Roig
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 399
Creating Null's

To create a null that has exactly the same position and size as "object A", go to Object > Add Null, and click on "object A" in the Project window.
 
Old 04-14-2006, 09:12 AM   #5
manuel
Know-it-All
 
manuel's Avatar
Manu Roig
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 399
Creating Deformation Area's

- Attach your model to a null that has the same size and position (see previous post)
- Set the model is to only inherit deformations and nothing else
- Apply some deformations to the null, the model should inherit it.

You now can move the null around as a deformation area completely separate from the model.
 
Old 04-15-2006, 01:57 PM   #6
shoutzager
Frequenter
 
shoutzager's Avatar
portfolio
Steven Houtzager
Pixel Magician, 3D Animator, Guru
INTUITION
Smyrna, United States
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 100
Color chips

You can click and hold on a color chip and drag it over another color chip to change it. This makes it easy to copy a diffuse color onto a reflection color.

SH
 
Old 04-15-2006, 06:34 PM   #7
evant
Veteran
Evan Troxel
LA, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by arketype
This has been mentioned elsewhere, but....

Set Anti-Aliasing to Adaptive and min 255, max 255 to put camera into "average" mode.
This creates a crisper image, good for stills. Also renders just a bit faster.



This should read "Adaptive" mode.
 
Old 04-16-2006, 10:06 PM   #8
arketype
Render Speed Junkie
 
arketype's Avatar
portfolio
David Stoddard
Industrial Designer
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by evant
This should read "Adaptive" mode.


Yes, the anti-aliasing setting is "Adaptive" vs. Oversample
But look at the Camera window while rendering... next to the antialiasing item it will say "Average".
 
Old 04-18-2006, 05:44 PM   #9
plsyvjeucxfw
Frequenter
Kurt Fillmore
Ex-Electronics Technician
Independent Image
USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 277
Group Cycling

You can do replacement animation, where a different model appears on each frame, through "group cycling".

This requires creating a model for each frame of the sequence and importing them - in order - into Animator. All of the models are then Parented to the very first model in the list. The Parent model then has two tilde's added to it's name (i.e. ~~Model).

During rendering the Parent model never appears, instead, the first child is rendered on the first frame, the second for the second frame and so on.
 
Old 04-18-2006, 06:20 PM   #10
arketype
Render Speed Junkie
 
arketype's Avatar
portfolio
David Stoddard
Industrial Designer
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by plsyvjeucxfw
You can do replacement animation, where a different model appears on each frame, through "group cycling".

This requires creating a model for each frame of the sequence and importing them - in order - into Animator. All of the models are then Parented to the very first model in the list. The Parent model then has two tilde's added to it's name (i.e. ~~Model).

During rendering the Parent model never appears, instead, the first child is rendered on the first frame, the second for the second frame and so on.



This is a great trick that also has GUI controls.
There is now a tab in a group's info window to control child cycling.
This includes start and stop frames, and frame rate and "loop" controls.

(This trick reminds me of the secret $cloud$ shader from v2.7- anybody remember the specifics on these? Are they still active? (even though no longer neccesary).
 
Old 04-20-2006, 01:44 AM   #11
richardjoly
Contain traces of peanuts
 
richardjoly's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Joly
Professional Apprentice
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 619
Sometimes you try all your might to grab the Bezier handle of a keyframe but can only get the translation arrows. Clic anywhere beside the point, the handles are still there but the translation arrows are out of the way. Do your thing...
__________________
Rick
 
Old 04-23-2006, 07:26 AM   #12
Igors
Know-it-All
Igors
3D software developers
Ukraine
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 411
Scaling Plug-In with children

Hi, gentlemen

Last 2 days we've been busy with learning how EI scales a plug-in with chidren. Finally it's clear , so let us story what we've learned, and, of course, sorry if we "rediscovered a bicyrcle" At least it's a new for us.

Ok, steps:

- create a simplest cube with Ubershape (resolution = 1)
- add MrBlobby to prj, set "vertex blobs" and link the Cube to it

Now you see 8 balls (for each cube's corner). Let's start experiments with "Inherit scale" = OFF for children.

- save MrBlobby as a model, re-import it and try to scale. All goes fine, scale works in absolute standard and intuitive way. BTW: same results are with "Live plug-in" = OFF

- try same scales with MrBlobby plug-in (Group Window). Ops! Absolute different results! We see our balls are enlarged/reduced correspondly, but distances between them remain the same.

We've learned how it works. If plug-in's scale = 2 (for example), then EI passes to the plug-in the children data scaled to 0.5 (and vice versa, children are enlarged twice if scale = 0.5). A plug-in reads children and creates a geometry. EI scales the plug-in's output. Final result: previously reduced/enlarged source data take their original places (cube's corners in our test), but plug-ins results are scaled (balls)

Hmmm... interesting solution, but ... suitable not for all plug-ins

Ok, now set "Inherit scale" = ON for child groups. For our example it works as a "standard" scale. But it's not so if a plug-in has 2 or more chidren, cause each child uses its local center to scale.

There are a lot of scales in EI

Last edited by Igors : 04-23-2006 at 07:30 AM.
 
Old 04-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #13
halfworld
Lord of the posts
 
halfworld's Avatar
portfolio
Ian Waters
3d Animator
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 985
Send a message via AIM to halfworld Send a message via MSN to halfworld
Motion Blur preview

You can preview motion blur and DoF within Animator, no need to do a test render!

1. Select the world view window
2. Render > Preview Blur Window

Just make sure you have multi-frame set to more then one frame and that your preview is set to output to screen (thats the default anyway).



Ian
 
Old 07-07-2006, 07:19 PM   #14
richardjoly
Contain traces of peanuts
 
richardjoly's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Joly
Professional Apprentice
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 619
Rearranging groups in project window

This tip was given on the Postforum by Charles Berg (Cj)
It shows how you can reposition groups by dragging over the icon or make it a child by dragging over the title. Easier to show:
http://www.rdn.qc.ca/EIAS/Project_window_order.mov
__________________
Rick
 
Old 07-07-2006, 07:23 PM   #15
richardjoly
Contain traces of peanuts
 
richardjoly's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Joly
Professional Apprentice
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 619
Ruler pointers

This tip was given by Halfworld on the Electricimage Forum.

__________________
Rick
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.