CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Plugins & Add-ons
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2004, 09:21 PM   #1
Cryptite
Speeds by Surface
 
Cryptite's Avatar
portfolio
Tom Miller
Technical Director
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 513
Send a message via AIM to Cryptite
Aura

Well I figured since we have a Particle Flow discussion and a Mental Ray thread discussion, I might as well try an start up an Aura Discussion Thread.

So to start out, i'll put up a couple of links that i'll try to add to once we all start pitching in our R&D and test shots.

Aura Home Page & Examples

Aura Public Test Build (Aura Itself)
Latest Build: 0.63.02 | Released : Feb 16, 2005


Hope we'll be able to get this thread kickin' with our contributions!





__________________
Solitude: $.changethe****ingstartframe = 1600
Solitude: fun fact: that's the script for everything

Last edited by Cryptite : 03-18-2005 at 05:16 AM. Reason: New Aura Build
 
Old 09-14-2004, 11:01 PM   #2
jlelievre
Think for yourself...
 
jlelievre's Avatar
portfolio
Joel LeLièvre
Delicate Machines
Dartmouth, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,038
Send a message via ICQ to jlelievre Send a message via AIM to jlelievre Send a message via MSN to jlelievre
Smokin idea!

Here is my first test using this sweet, sweet gift from the people at Chaos. Uses a simple wind and vortex.

Smoke Test 01

I cannot wait to get some free time and mess around with this stuff some more!
__________________
Joel LeLièvre
joel@divisionof8.com

www.divisionof8.com
www.delicatemachines.com
Vimeo Videos

 
Old 09-14-2004, 11:14 PM   #3
treed
Linkage Person
 
treed's Avatar
Tyler Reed
Comcast
Parker, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 510
Send a message via AIM to treed Send a message via MSN to treed
Posted these in the AURA forums already and pflow thread but I'll just do it in here since this is the official thread.

Heres just some basic smoke+fire.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st...s/AURA_fire.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st.../AURA_fire1.mov


And then, the candle I'm currently working on.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st...AURA_candle.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st...URA_candle1.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st...URA_candle2.mov


Just have a little color adjustment on the candle and then I think it's perfect. I have to make it transparent near the bottom because that's how a real flame is.
__________________
-Tyler Reed


http://www.3dluvr.com/treed



 
Old 09-15-2004, 12:24 AM   #4
JeffPatton
I can count to potato!
 
JeffPatton's Avatar
portfolio
Jeff Patton
Freelance Digital Artist
Freelance Artist
Lexington, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,895
Ok, let me post these again..lol...(I'm sure people are sick of seeing them by now)

Here's my latest test:
I used a skull model as an emitter, then just hid it from the camera. I had to use a very small cell & high number of cells to get the details though...over 3 million cells so that's why the animation test is a bit short!

Here's a screen grab:


And the very short (12 frame video):
http://www.jeffpatton.net/CG-post/Aura-skull.avi

and here's an older test:


And here's the video (I know the jet is moving too slow...I'll fix that next round):
Download video

JP
__________________
Jeff Patton
My Website
 
Old 09-15-2004, 02:42 AM   #5
Daniel-B
Expert
 
Daniel-B's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Broadway
Sr. Visual Effects Artist
Raytheon
Huntsville, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,348
I tried to create a nuclear explosion with AURA. But I couldn't get the scale big enough. I was able to do it with Maya Fluids, so I assume AURA should be able to do something similar?

So, who wants to give a nuclear explosion a shot?
__________________
Daniel Broadway 2013 Compositor Reel

Vimeo Videos
Daniel Broadway

 
Old 09-15-2004, 02:54 AM   #6
Cryptite
Speeds by Surface
 
Cryptite's Avatar
portfolio
Tom Miller
Technical Director
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 513
Send a message via AIM to Cryptite
Its pretty easy. Get Loran in here, he's posted his nuclear test explosions in the chaos forums... I'm having a hard time with aura so far; the settings are very precise, and being off .1 units can totally change your simulation...
__________________
Solitude: $.changethe****ingstartframe = 1600
Solitude: fun fact: that's the script for everything
 
Old 09-15-2004, 07:10 AM   #7
ArtiZta
Frequenter
 
ArtiZta's Avatar
portfolio
Milan Yudiro
Magnetic Pictures
Jakarta, Indonesia
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via Yahoo to ArtiZta
Great job Jeff, the skull is great...
I've got aura install for few days now but still haven't got spare time to explore it..
tell us, how long did it take to simulate & render the smoke skull?


cheers
 
Old 09-15-2004, 07:23 AM   #8
JeffPatton
I can count to potato!
 
JeffPatton's Avatar
portfolio
Jeff Patton
Freelance Digital Artist
Freelance Artist
Lexington, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,895
The simulation calc was taking about 3-5 minutes per frame (I think) when I stopped it. The render didn't take too long at all, around 5-10 mintues total for those 12 frames (used a VRay area light)

JP
__________________
Jeff Patton
My Website
 
Old 09-15-2004, 03:00 PM   #9
fabriciomicheli
The real Dr. Gonzo
 
fabriciomicheli's Avatar
portfolio
Fabricio Micheli
Visual Artist
Posadas, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 434
Send a message via MSN to fabriciomicheli
I like this thread!

A question to all: has this beta public test a lot of features or it has just a couple of basics things??? (haven't tried it yet)
Because i need a plugin for volumetric effects for a little short im doing...

__________________
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." (Albert Einstein)
:::::::::::::::::::::::
 
Old 09-16-2004, 07:45 PM   #10
Waple
Perpetual n00b
 
Waple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 164
How are you guys getting this to work? I downloaded the .msi file, but when I try to run the script in Max, it's not found (.msi isn't an extension that's listed). So I tried renaming it to a .ms, .mcr and .mse since they are listed in the drop down, and I get a Maxscript Filein Exception error.

Then I tried creating a custom toolbar, but couldn't find aura anywhere in the list of commands to add.
__________________
The MechaWAPLE Project
 
Old 09-16-2004, 07:49 PM   #11
JeffPatton
I can count to potato!
 
JeffPatton's Avatar
portfolio
Jeff Patton
Freelance Digital Artist
Freelance Artist
Lexington, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,895
Just double click the .msi file in windows explorer.
__________________
Jeff Patton
My Website
 
Old 09-16-2004, 08:00 PM   #12
Waple
Perpetual n00b
 
Waple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 164
Ah, thanks. I didn't realize (untill you said that) the .msi stood, apparently, for MicroSoft Installer. I was thinking this was a script, not a plugin, and since the MaxScript files are .ms files, I assumed the .msi stood for MaxScript I____.

<-- noob.

Thanks again



Um, does it not work in Max 6? I'm getting the error at load saying this plugin doesn't work with this version.
__________________
The MechaWAPLE Project

Last edited by Waple : 09-16-2004 at 08:05 PM.
 
Old 09-16-2004, 09:00 PM   #13
Cryptite
Speeds by Surface
 
Cryptite's Avatar
portfolio
Tom Miller
Technical Director
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 513
Send a message via AIM to Cryptite
I got that error too, at first. You have to launch that .msi file again and reinstall it. This time, however, turn off installing plugins for max 5. If you have max 5 and you want to install it for that too (for whatever reason) you'd have to find the max 5 root folder and turn off installing the max 6 plugins.
__________________
Solitude: $.changethe****ingstartframe = 1600
Solitude: fun fact: that's the script for everything
 
Old 09-18-2004, 02:11 AM   #14
treed
Linkage Person
 
treed's Avatar
Tyler Reed
Comcast
Parker, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 510
Send a message via AIM to treed Send a message via MSN to treed
Alright, heres my new candle flame. I think it's a lot better than the rest but have no idea why the light isn't flickering in the render, it does in the viewport though.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20st...URA_candle4.mov
__________________
-Tyler Reed


http://www.3dluvr.com/treed



 
Old 09-24-2004, 06:36 PM   #15
ArtiZta
Frequenter
 
ArtiZta's Avatar
portfolio
Milan Yudiro
Magnetic Pictures
Jakarta, Indonesia
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via Yahoo to ArtiZta
Someone posted a nuke test.. can anyone help me find it?..
I want to try to make the nuke effect.. how good can aura beta do it?...
can anyone help pls

cheers
 
reply share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.