Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-22-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
supafraud
portfolio
Steven Andrus
San Francisco, USA

How is this accomplished? TP avoid volume

Hellllllo. I'm working on a project where I need this kind of functionality on my TP setup. I'm still a TP novice but I think I can wrap my head around your suggestions if you don't use too many big words ;-)

https://vimeo.com/8626169

Thanks in advance for any input!

Old 03-22-2013, 11:22 PM   #2
littledevil
Meh

portfolio
Ferdinand
Germany

the example looks pretty faked. i guess it is just a deflector node, a strong directional
force plus some convex dummy collision mesh (note the huge gaps). an actual 'flow
around surface' compound like you can find it in the xsi or houdini libs is not part of the
c4d tp toolset. you would have to build your own and the task would include some
coding which won't fit the as easy as possible requirements.

the cheating collision node approach is pretty simplistic, it would look something like this.
a low bounce value is the key to get it somewhat realistic.

http://i.imgur.com/872ykx9.jpg

Old 03-23-2013, 12:39 AM   #3
supafraud
portfolio
Steven Andrus
San Francisco, USA

Hey, thanks for the reply! Yeah, i've been playing with colliders and and due to the complex nature of the geometry i'm trying to avoid and the animation around the object the particles have a nasty habit of getting stuck to the surface. I also tried using the TP avoid that comes in the presets but it's not very useful because I can't assign it to the complex model. So this is something that would take some coding? Has someone created anything available for download?

Old 03-23-2013, 04:05 AM   #4
littledevil
Meh

portfolio
Ferdinand
Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by supafraud