Female 3d character - critique needed ..

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2011   #1
Female 3d character - critique needed ..

Hey guys,

I'm looking for a little critique on this model. I've been working on it, on and off for a few years now lol .. well a few days every couple of months to refine my skills. Never feels quite right though. I'm trying to create a form that is natural yet aesthetically pleasing.

It's modeled with old school box modeling techniques.

external link;

http://www.davidedwards.me/web/female_01.jpg

Any thoughts very welcome.

Thanks
Dave.

Old 05 May 2011   #2
So far so good.

It looks like everything is in the right place, scale and proportion wise. I put her in “the grid” and everything checked out fine. I just think the forms can use more development and refining.

A few things that stand out to me, from your views shown, are:

–Her brow looks to robust/swollen.
–The clavicles need form and straightening. The inner ends of the clavicles also need defining and are now creating an unusual arc, pushing the top of the sternum down too far.
–The pecs are making an odd forked crease as they hit the deltoids.
–She needs knee detail.
–The back of the knees have a strange bulge.
–Scapulas could go longer, more triangular.
–The butt crease should close up more. There’s too much gap at the top, and the sacral area above it should be convex, not concaved at that point.
–The outer edge of the feet, from the heel forward, look swollen.
–the four small toes appear too long.
_There is a long furrow between the big and next toe that looks wrong.
–From the side view she looks too flat in the pelvis and thigh area, compared to the rib cage and front view of the upper legs.

I’m guessing you may be running into some topology raod blocks in the areas where odd creasing is occurring.