Want to learn how to draw but where to start?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

11 November 2010
Want to learn how to draw but where to start?

Hello guys,

I'm completely new to drawing and I got quite a lot of books but I just don't know where to start. I've checked the tutorials here but there are so many of them and I am only confused where do I begin with.
I do 3d animation and I want to learn how to draw because I know that it will improve my work so I got all these books and iPad with Sketchbook Pro (and pogo stylus) to start sketching but when I got it I got stuck as I don't know how to start.

I would like to learn how to draw people in perspective and posing. Then when I'm decently comfortable it would be probably great to learn shading (correct??)

Here are the books I have:
- Drawn to Life - Walt Stanchfield
- Drawing on the right side of the brain - Betty Edwards
- Force dynamic life drawing for animators - Michael D. Mattesi
- Simplified drawing for planning animation - Wayne Gilbert

Now, I got the books but still don't know which one to start with.

Some people said to copy stuff like apple or cube, some said life drawing classes etc.

What would be the most constructive way to learn so I can learn effectively and efficiently?

I would rather ask now and get the whole feedback than find out later that I could have learn drawing quicker and more effectively if I knew this or that.

So, what would you suggest pls?

Thank you very much

11 November 2010
Take a class. Seriously, that's the best way to learn.

Korpus School of Art + Gallery
www.korpus-la.com
Facebook Page | Blog
korpus.info@gmail.com
Downtown Los Angeles

11 November 2010
Originally Posted by Rebeccak: Take a class. Seriously, that's the best way to learn.

class of what? life drawing or just drawing?

11 November 2010
You start from life drawing with a teacher.

11 November 2010